Well, I’ve finally resigned from the Ramblers Association.

I’ve been a member now for over fifty years. Fifty, mostly very happy years.

In that time I’ve helped start eight RA groups, been an Area Footpaths Secretary, held every group officer position except treasurer. Led hundreds of walks and trained walks leaders.

I’ve represented the RA at numerous public and footpath inquiries, served on its Dartmoor/Exmoor Committee, helped fundraise for the Don’t Lose your Way campaign.

Designed the route for the Teignmouth and Dawlish Way and helped research the route for the Two Moors Way. Fought in many of the battles to protect Dartmoor.

They very kindly gave me a commendation during the 75th Anniversary volunteers award.

Over fifty years – but all over now.

17 thoughts on “Farewell to the Ramblers Association

  1. Goodness, John, that’s some record! Well done! There will be a big gap in your time; I was a volunteer with the Woodland Trust for nearly 30 years, both here & in the SE of England but when they had some sort of data breach & I was asked to re-apply, well, I thought I’ve done enough woodland surveys, it’s time for younger folk to have some input! Again, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, looking again, definitely Latrigg on the left, then Lonscale to the right of it.

        Like

  2. You must be very proud of yourself. It is certainly something to be applauded as I know how much time goes into leading tramping groups, though haven’t been a leader myself. Well done, John.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If I could add my voice to Ashley’s, John, a priceless contribution there, and to a cause you so clearly believe in. As well as a medal, I believe the Rambler’s owe you a pension. But your writings carry the cause onwards, and more strength you. My respects.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. End of an era, John. It must feel strange. But clearly a job very well done over a considerable timespan, so congratulations on all you achieved. You should be proud.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment